Buddhism teaching

Tergar Announces Online Teaching with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche – Buddhistdoor Global

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche. Image courtesy of Tergar International

The Tergar Meditation Community, founded by respected Dharma teacher and master of the Karma Kagyu and Nyingma lineages of Tibetan Buddhism Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, announced a special online teaching with Rinpoche on July 23 under the theme “The Power of Visualization for awakening: Heart of Tantra with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche.

“We have another exciting free lecture with Rinpoche coming soon in July: it’s dedicated to the power of the imagination and is a starting point for this year’s transmission,” Tergar International shared with BDG. “At the heart of this year’s transmission and the Vajrayana tradition is pure perception – seeing ourselves, others and the world around us as inherently perfect. To do this, we practice what are called the development and completion stages, through which we gain the certainty of our Buddha-nature – that we are enlightened from the start.

Open to all practitioners, Rinpoche’s lecture will provide insight into the Vajrayana approach, an examination of imagination as a method of the Buddhist path to enlightenment, and an opportunity to deepen one’s meditative experience.

In its announcement for the event, Tergar International shared:

Do you wonder how to harness the power of imagination in your spiritual life? In the Vajrayana Buddhist path, it is said that our true nature is fundamentally pure, and the path is a process of recognizing this truth. During this webinar, Mingyur Rinpoche will present imagination practices that can help us release our basic goodness.

“The Power of Visualization for Awakening: The Heart of Tantra with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche” will take place at the following times:

Auckland: 2 a.m., Sunday July 24
Canberra: 12 p.m., Sunday July 24
Seoul, Tokyo: 11 p.m., Saturday July 23
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10 p.m., Saturday July 23
Bangkok, Jakarta: 9 p.m., Saturday July 23
New Delhi: 7:30 p.m., Saturday July 23
Moscow: 5 p.m., Saturday July 23
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 4 p.m., Saturday July 23
London: 3 p.m., Saturday July 23
Montreal, New York: 10 a.m., Saturday July 23
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 7 a.m., Saturday July 23

For more details and to register for this free conference with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, click here

Imagine cutting the invisible strings that bind us so painfully: what would that look like? Imagine the freedoms that come from being able to enjoy things without having to own, own, own them. — Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche

Mingyur Rinpoche, the founder of the Tergar meditation community, which has practice centers and groups around the world, is a renowned teacher and bestselling author whose books include La Joie de Vivre: Unraveling the Secret and Science of Happiness (2007), Joyful Wisdom: Embrace Change and Find Freedom (2009), and Turning Confusion into Clarity: A Guide to the Fundamental Practices of Tibetan Buddhism (2014).

Born in 1975 in the Himalayan border region between Tibet and Nepal, Mingyur Rinpoche received extensive training in Tibetan Buddhist meditative and philosophical traditions from his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche (1920-1996), considered the one of the greatest modern Dzogchen masters, then at Sherab Ling Monastery in northern India. After only two years, at the age of 13, Mingyur Rinpoche entered a three-year meditation retreat, then completed a second immediately after, serving as a retreat master. At 23, Rinpoche received full monastic ordination.

Mingyur Rinpoche undertook a solitary four-year wandering retreat through the Himalayas from 2011 to 2015. Recounting how he came to terms with the realities of his ambition to practice as a wandering yogi, Rinpoche revealed that he faced many personal and spiritual challenges, including, at one point, his own mortality. Rinpoche described the years he spent wandering the Himalayas as “one of the best times of my life”.*

* Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche returns from a four-year wilderness retreat (BDG) and Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche posts a video offering post-retreat information (BDG)

See more

The Power of Visualization for Awakening (Tergar)
The Heart of Tantra: The Development and Completion Stages of Vajrayana Buddhism (Tergar)
Tergar
Tergar Asia

BDG Related News Reports

The Mind of a Bodhisattva: Tergar Announces Online Retreat with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
The Tergar Meditation Community to Host a Webinar on the Essence of the Bodhisattva Path with Tai Situ Rinpoche
Mingyur Rinpoche to Lead Online Saga Dawa Celebration
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche’s Tergar Community Offers Online Dzogchen Immersion Study
The Tergar Meditation Community will offer a webinar on “Awakening Wisdom Through Analysis”
Meditation community Tergar offers online Buddhist guidance for uncertain times
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche offers advice on racial unrest in America

BDG Related Features

The Good News of Suffering: Four Questions About the Four Noble Truths with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Living with awareness, practicing with intention: interview with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Exclusive interview: Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche on Living life with balance and awareness