Buddhism teaching

Online Teaching with Ngak’chang Rinpoche and Khandro Déchen – Buddhistdoor Global

Ngak’chang Rinpoche and Khandro Déchen, lineage holders and leading lamas of the Aro gTér tradition of the Nyingma school of Vajrayana Buddhism, will host an online teaching on the inner astrology of Khyungchen Aro Lingma on March 1, titled: ” Oxen Become Tigers – Essential Astrological Teachings on Transit Time of Aro gTér The webinar coincides with Losar, the traditional Tibetan New Year, which falls on March 3 this year.

“Khyungchen Aro Lingma’s gTérma approaches astrology in terms of the perceptual dimension of the practice – of Living the View,” the organizing community of Drala Jong in Wales announced. “It has nothing to do with trying to make the future ‘sure’ by trying to guess it. Everyone can predict the future anyway. Just look at a person and you can say, ‘You, sir or madam, you are going to die.

“Khyungchen Aro Lingma’s astrology is therefore about experiencing the view and the best way to experience the view in terms of the patterns that appear in the present moment. Practice is about change. This perceptual astrology is about facilitating change – so it is not about prediction, expectation, prognosis or divination. It does, however, convey suggestions or metaphors of what might evolve with respect to View and how View works.

The event will be broadcast live from Drala Jong in Wales, UK. Although attendance is free, donations are welcome and will be matched by anonymous donors to the Storm Arwen Woodland Damage Emergency Appeal.

“Oxen Becoming Tigers” will take place at the following times:

Auckland: 9 a.m., Wednesday March 2
Canberra: 7 a.m., Wednesday March 2
Seoul, Tokyo: 5 a.m., Wednesday March 2
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 4 a.m., Wednesday March 2
Bangkok, Jakarta: 3 a.m., Wednesday March 2
New Delhi: 1h30, Wednesday March 2
Moscow: 11 p.m., Tuesday March 1
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 9 p.m., Tuesday March 1
London: 8 p.m., Tuesday, March 1
Montreal, New York: 3 p.m., Tuesday March 1
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 12 p.m., Tuesday March 1

Click here for Zoom registration

Ngak’chang Rinpoche and Khandro Déchen are the lineage holders and principal lamas of the Aro gTér tradition.
Image courtesy of Drama Jong

“The 12 animals of the Himalayan calendar provide an opportunity each year that can work like a New Year’s resolution. Sometimes, however, with a wide range of guidance, we gain a way to activate potential in the present, in relation to the patterns of the past and the potential of the future,” Ngak’chang Rinpoche shared with BDG.

“It might amuse us to observe how we weathered the storm Arwen [in the UK last November]. We did it in good solid jams, but soon we will have to be more sophisticated in our approach. After Losar, we will have to be like tigers ready to act according to what comes. Proceeding in a linear way by digging a furrow was a good thing, but when this approach inevitably wears out, then we have to create lateral initiatives – like tigers ready to pounce in unexpected directions.

“It can give some idea of ​​the value of the cycle of the 12 animals in our approach to life. Life is a creative challenge in terms of active compassion, and if we can equip ourselves with the symbolic tools of invention, we can be less hampered by habit and self-destructive procedures.

The Aro gTér tradition traces its lineage of enlightened practitioners to the mother of Tibetan Buddhism, Yeshe Tsogyel, a female master and teacher who, together with her wife Padmasambhava, founded the Nyingma school of Vajrayana Buddhism. Aro gTér is a small family line within this tradition, founded by the visionary woman Lama Aro Lingma in 1909. Teachers of the Aro gTér tradition are ordained heads of families tantric, rather than monastic practitioners. Many of them teach as married couples, pursuing conventional careers and raising families alongside their practice and teaching commitments.

In describing the practices and aims of the tradition, the Bristol-based Buddhist affiliated charity Sang-ngak-chö-dzong states: “The teachings of the Aro gTér, a Vajrayana Tibetan Buddhist lineage, are uniquely appropriate for many Westerners. The Aro gTér tradition is primarily concerned with transforming our experience of everyday being, rather than achieving an esoteric or spiritualized way of existence. Our goal is to engender cheerful courage, insightful consideration, sincere determination, natural gallantry, grace, creativity and space.

See more

Drala Jong
Aro Community
Sang-ngak-chö-dzong
Drala Jong (Facebook)
Aro Ling Bristol (Facebook)
Aro Ling Cardiff (Facebook)

Related news reports from Buddhistdoor Global

Entering the Heart of the Sun and Moon: Online Teaching with Ngak’chang Rinpoche and Khandro Déchen
The Aro gTér Vajrayana lineage celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Buddhist charity SNCD

Related features of Buddhistdoor Global

Ngakma Mé-tsal Wangmo – Vicar of Vajrayana