Buddhism teaching

Indian Legacy – Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche to Give Public Teaching – Buddhistdoor Global

To celebrate the occasion of Saga Dawa, the “month of merit” for Tibetan Buddhists, the famous Bhutanese lama, filmmaker and author Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche will give a public teaching on June 14 and 15 on the theme “Buddha Dharma: An Indian Inheritance.” The lecture will focus on “the quintessential purity and relevance of the Buddha’s teaching and place it in the context of India’s rich cultural heritage, emphasizing the need to preserve and practice it.” (Buddha Pada)

“The Buddha’s teaching is like a lion’s roar, ‘Simhanada’, the only danger to a lion is decay from within,” Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche said in an announcement for the teaching shared with BDG. . “And to avoid this, it is essential that the authentic teachings of the Buddha are studied and practiced with a broad attitude. From a simple export value perspective, compare the quality of India’s rich Buddhist heritage to the respect it commands around the world. . . it is the greatest creation he has ever produced – the stainless teachings and wisdom of Gautama Buddha.

This free two-day event will be held in person at the Buddha Pāda Institute in Kalimpong, India, and streamed live, with the following start times:

Auckland: 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, June 14
Canberra: 2:30 p.m., Tuesday, June 14
Seoul, Tokyo: 1:30 p.m., Tuesday, June 14
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 12:30 p.m., Tuesday, June 14
Bangkok, Jakarta: 11:30 a.m., Tuesday, June 14
New Delhi: 10 a.m., Tuesday June 14
Moscow: 7:30 a.m., Tuesday, June 14
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 6:30 a.m., Tuesday, June 14
London: 5:30 a.m., Tuesday, June 14
Montreal, New York: 12:30 a.m., Tuesday, June 14
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 9:30 p.m., Monday, June 13

For full class times, click here

Saga Dawa, the fourth month of the Tibetan lunar calendar, is the most important Buddhist holiday period of the year for Tibetan Buddhists. The name of the month is derived from the Shakya clan to which Shakyamuni Buddha belonged. It is believed that the first 15 days of Saga Dawa are particularly conducive to the practice of Dharma and the cultivation of body, speech and mind. The 15th day of Saga Dawa, the full moon day known as Saga Dawa Duchen, commemorates the birth, awakening and mahaparinirvana of Buddha Shakyamuni. This year, Saga Dawa begins on May 31 and ends on June 29.

On June 14, to mark Saga Dawa Duchen, Rinpoche will also offer a sutra teaching on “The Perfection of Wisdom: Prajnaparamita » and will introduce two new translations by 84000: Translating the Words of the Buddha, a global non-profit initiative to translate and share the Canon of Tibetan Buddhism. Both translations are taken from the “Perfection of Wisdom” section of the Kangyur: The Heart of the Perfection of Wisdom, the Blessed Mother (The Heart Sutra) and The Perfection of Wisdom in Eighteen Thousand Lines.

“We are delighted to share that this coming month of Saga Dawa will see the publication of two texts from the “The Perfection of Wisdom” section of the Kangyur: The Heart of the Perfection of Wisdom, the Blessed Mother and The Perfection of Wisdom in Eighteen Thousand Lines“, 84000 shared. “With the length of this latest, we will also take a major step in the publication of the Kangyur In English.” (84000)

Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche.
Image courtesy of Siddhartha’s Intent India

Born in Bhutan in 1961, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche is the son of Thinley Norbu Rinpoche and was a close student of master Nyingma Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (1910-1991). It is recognized as the third incarnation of 19th century Tibetan terton Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo (1820–1892), founder of the Khyentse lineage, and the immediate incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö (1893–1959).

Rinpoche’s projects include the Khyentse Foundation, established in 2001 to promote the teachings of the Buddha and support all traditions of Buddhist study and practice; Siddhartha’s Intent, an international collective of Buddhist groups supporting Rinpoche’s Buddhadharma activities by organizing teachings and retreats, distributing and archiving recorded teachings, and transcribing, editing and translating manuscripts and practice texts; 84000, a global non-profit initiative to translate the words of the Buddha and make them accessible to everyone; Lotus Outreach, which runs a series of projects aimed at ensuring the education, health and safety of vulnerable women and children in developing countries; and Lhomon Society, which promotes sustainable development in Bhutan through education.

Rinpoche is the author of several books, including: What makes you not a Buddhist (2006), Not for happiness (2012), The guru drinks bourbon? (2016), and Poison is Medicine: Clarifying the Vajrayana (2021), and has gained fame inside and outside the global Buddhist community for the feature films he has written and directed: The mug (1999), Travelers and magicians (2004), Vara: a blessing (2012), Hema Hema: Sing me a song while I wait (2016), and Looking for a woman with fangs and a mustache (2019).

See more

Buddha Dharma: An Indian Legacy (Buddha Pāda)
Buddha Dharma: An Indian Heritage and the Perfection of Wisdom (Siddhartha’s Intent)
A Teaching on the Sutra | The Perfection of Wisdom offered by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche (84000: Translating the words of the Buddha)

BDG Related News Reports

The Khyentse Foundation celebrates 20 years of service to Buddhadharma
Windows on Buddhism: Khyentse Foundation Announces Launch of New Book and Website
Buddha Path Hostel: Khyentse Foundation Announces New Short Film on Buddhist Teachings
84000 announces the world’s first comprehensive English language catalog Tengyour
UPDATE: 84000 launches new app, with insights from Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Khyentse Foundation’s Kumarajiva Project Focuses on Training Translators
84000 launches a special edition of the Hundred Deeds Sutra illustrated by children in confinement

BDG Related Features

Poison is medicine: Paradox and Perception in Vajrayana Buddhism
Being Courageous: Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Technology and Dharma Spread
A Buddhist Vision for Educational Reform: The Blue Lion Kindergarten, Inspired by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Seeing the Sacred: An Interview with Pawo Choyning Dorji, Producer of Hema Hema: Sing me a song while I wait
Modern Education and the Future of Buddhism: Interview with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche