Buddhism teaching

84000 announces online teaching with Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche on August 1 – Buddhistdoor Global

Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche. At samyeinstitute.org

84000: Translating the Words of the Buddha, a global non-profit initiative founded by renowned Bhutanese lama, author and filmmaker Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche to translate and share the Tibetan Buddhist Canon, announced that the Tibetan Buddhist teacher and master of meditation Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche will offer an online sutra teaching on August 1.

Organized jointly by 84000 and Shedrub Mandala, which oversees the Dharma activities of Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche, Rinpoche will give a live teaching on the translation of 84000 from The Wheel of Dharma Sutra (Dharmacakrasutra) for Chokor Duchen. This festival falls on the fourth day of the sixth month of the Tibetan lunar calendar and celebrates “Turning the Wheel of Dharma” – Shakyamuni Buddha’s first teaching at Sarnath on the Four Noble Truths.

“We are honored to have Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche teach this brief but classic presentation of the four truths that has remained at the heart of the Buddhist tradition from its very beginnings,” 84000 announced. (84000)

The Wheel of Dharma Sutra is among the most famous and beloved texts of the Buddha’s teachings, expounding the four noble fundamental truths of Buddhism:

The truth of suffering (duhkha)
The truth of the cause of suffering (samudaya satya)
The truth of the end of suffering (nirhodha)
The truth of the path that frees us from suffering (aryastanga-marga)

The historical Buddha, Shakyamuni, offered this as his first taught teaching after attaining enlightenment.

“The Buddha is said to have traveled from the seat of enlightenment in Bodh Gaya to Deer Park outside Varanasi, where he passed on this teaching to his five former spiritual companions,” 84000 explained. “As it was the first time that the Buddha was turning the Wheel of Dharma, this discourse also became known as The Wheel of Dharma Sutraor, more commonly, The Sutra of Turning the Wheel of Dharma. This teaching is included in all the great canons of Buddhism, so there are versions in Pali, Sanskrit, Chinese and Tibetan. We encourage you to read this brief but important text before the teaching. (84000)

Image courtesy of 84000

Eldest son of revered Dzogchen master Kyabje Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche and devoted practitioner Kunsang Dechen, Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche was born in Tibet in 1951. Rinpoche spent his youth in India, studying for 11 years under the care of His Holiness the 16th Gyalwang Karmapa. at Rumtek Monastery. He also studied with Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche, Dudjom Rinpoche, Khunu Lama Tenzin Gyaltsen, as well as his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche.

In 1974, Rinpoche joined his parents in Kathmandu, where he helped them establish the Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling monastery. As abbot since 1976, Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche has overseen the welfare and spiritual education of nearly 500 monks and nuns. Among his many Dharma projects, Rinpoche has authored several books and founded meditation centers around the world.

Rinpoche’s August 1 teaching will be offered in Tibetan, with English translation via live webcast, and Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Ukrainian via Zoom.

« A teaching on Sutra | The Wheel of Dharma Sutra” with Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche will be broadcast live at the following times:

Auckland: 1h15, Tuesday August 2
Canberra: 11:15 p.m., Monday August 1
Seoul, Tokyo: 10:15 p.m., Monday August 1
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 9:15 p.m., Monday August 1
Bangkok, Jakarta: 8:15 p.m., Monday August 1
Kathmandu: 7 p.m., Monday August 1
New Delhi: 6:45 p.m., Monday August 1
Moscow: 4.15 p.m., Monday August 1
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 3:15 p.m., Monday August 1
London: 2:15 p.m., Monday August 1
Rio de Janeiro: 10:15 a.m., Monday August 1
Montreal, New York: 9:15 a.m., Monday August 1
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 6:15 a.m., Monday August 1

Click here for more details and to register for teaching with Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche

84,000: Translating the Buddha’s Words is a long-term endeavor to translate and publish all surviving canonical texts preserved in the Classical Tibetan language – 70,000 pages of the Kangyur (the translated words of the Buddha) in 25 years and 161,800 pages of Tengyur (the translated commentaries on the teachings of the Buddha by the great Indian Buddhist masters and scholars) in 100 years. According to 84,000, less than 5% of the canon had hitherto been translated into a modern language, and due to a rapid decline in knowledge of Classical Tibetan and in the number of qualified scholars, the world stands to lose an irreplaceable heritage of cultural and spiritual wisdom.

Since its founding 12 years ago*, 84,000, named after the number of teachings the Buddha is said to have given, has awarded more than $6 million in grants to teams of translators around the world, including Tibetan scholars and Western scholars. In just 12 years, with the endorsement of the four major schools of Tibetan Buddhism, 84,000 continues to progress, supported by some of the most learned living teachers of the Vajrayana tradition.

Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche

Born in Bhutan in 1961, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche is the son of Thinley Norbu Rinpoche and was a close student of master Nyingma Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (1910-1991). It is recognized as the third incarnation of 19th century Tibetan terton Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo (1820–1892), founder of the Khyentse lineage, and the immediate incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö (1893–1959).

In addition to 84,000, Rinpoche’s projects include the Khyentse Foundation, established in 2001 to promote the Buddha’s teachings and support all traditions of Buddhist study and practice; Siddhartha’s Intent, an international collective of Buddhist groups supporting Rinpoche’s Buddhadharma activities by organizing teachings and retreats, distributing and archiving recorded teachings, and transcribing, editing and translating manuscripts and practice texts; Lotus Outreach, which runs a series of projects aimed at ensuring the education, health and safety of vulnerable women and children in developing countries; and Lhomon Society, which promotes sustainable development in Bhutan through education.

* 84000 launches video campaign to mark 10 years of preservation of the Tibetan Buddhist canon (BDG)

See more

84000: Translating the words of the Buddha
The Wheel of Dharma Sutra (84000)
Shedrub

BDG Related News Reports

84000 announces that 25% of Tibetan Kangyur is now available for free in English
84000 announces the world’s first comprehensive English Tengyur catalog
UPDATE: 84000 launches new app, with insights from Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
84000 establishes an adjunct professorship in Buddhist studies at the University of Toronto
84000 partners with UC Santa Barbara to translate the Tibetan Buddhist canon
84000 launches a special edition of the Hundred Deeds Sutra illustrated by children in confinement
84000 announces landmark publication of major Buddhist sutra never before available in English
84,000 “Well-Being Sutras” Offers for a World in Pandemic
84000 launches video campaign to mark 10 years of preservation of Tibetan Buddhist canon

BDG Related Features

Poison is medicine: Paradox and Perception in Vajrayana Buddhism
Be a Rinpoche: Interview with Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche
Being Courageous: Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Technology and Dharma Spread
A Buddhist Vision for Educational Reform: The Blue Lion Kindergarten, Inspired by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche